Funk Soul & Swing All-Dayer with Ashley Slater ( Freakpower ) 4pm-late

  • Home
  • /
  • Funk Soul & Swing All-Dayer with Ashley Slater ( Freakpower ) 4pm-late
Ashley Slater
Sunday, May 6, 2018 - 16:30 to 23:30

Freakpower's Ashley Slater Joins Audio Sushi DJs for this all-day Swing Soul and Funk Event. with Audiosushi DJs 4pm-late
he's playing a rocking selection from his own catalogue as well as his favorite funk soul and swing records! free all day! 

about: Freak Power was a band founded by bassist Norman Cook (later to become known as Fatboy Slim), Ashley Slater (the trombonist with the anarchic British jazz big band Loose Tubes), and vocalist Jesse Graham, also known as "the Bass Cadet." Their music was a mix of acid jazz with funk and soul, along with trip hop. about Ashley Slater: In 1977, Slater moved to Edinburgh, Scotland on his own, and there joined the regimental band of the 1st battalion the Royal Scots as a bass trombonist. He also got his first taste of minor stardom whilst standing in for the lead singer of Northern Irish R&B band Otis and the Elevators. In 1983 after leaving the army, he attended the National Centre for Orchestral Studies, after which he joined the jazz orchestral collective Loose Tubes.[3] Over the next few years he was the bass and tenor trombonist of choice for the likes of George Russell, Carla Bley, Andrew Poppy, El Sonido de Londres, Billy Jenkins, Django Bates and Andy Sheppard.[3] During this time he also worked as a session musician recording and arranging for The The, The Style Council, Fairground Attraction, Julia Fordham and the Rolling Stones. After a gig at Ronnie Scott's jazz club in London with Loose Tubes, Slater was approached by Rob Partridge, the then head of the Antilles Label on Island Records. At this time Slater and a fellow loose tuber, John Eacott had also been singing and writing songs for their funk band project called Microgroove. Their USP was an electric tuba played by Oren Marshall. They released one album called The Human Groove in 1988. In 1993, shortly after Norman Cook, a.k.a. Fatboy Slim, had remixed one of Microgroove's tunes, ("Walkin'") they teamed up to form Freak Power and went on to have a top three hit single in the UK with "Turn On, Tune In, Cop Out". Freak Power released two albums, Drive-Thru Booty and More of Everything for Everybody, also on Island records. As Cook's Fatboy career took off, Slater also went his own way and released music through Skint under the alias Dr. Bone. He also contributed vocals to and topline EDP's Sweet Music.